Shocking Discovery

So, I finally did it, just this evening I weighed myself,and am not so happy to say that I underestimated. I was absolutely horrified when I saw 215lbs on the scale. I am however trying to remain positive as even standing on the scales was a big step for me. It’s definitely time to take charge of the situation.

It’s my day 2, and I have to say I’m not hungry, although there have certainly been times during these two days when I would have eaten some horse burgers(link added for those who haven’t heard) if given the opportunity!!  I think that is just down to preparation, having meals planned and as much prepared as possible, because having two young kids, ages 2 1/2 and 18 months, means not having the luxury of taking that time during the day. So lesson learned.

I also tried something new, organic low-fat yogurt. Not being a fan of yogurt in the past, I tried the strawberry flavour and am a convert, it was delicious. For my 2nd something new on Friday I am going to try fish. I haven’t eaten fish since I was about 5 and walked into my Grandmothers kitchen to say hello, only to be greeted by a half gutted fresh fish on the kitchen table. It really freaked me out with its little beady eyes watching me, not to mention the smell. But I’m going to suck it up, so if anyone has any suggestions, which would be the best one to try first,what to serve with it and how do I actually cook it, they would be much appreciated.

I’ve also been made aware of a great mobile app, The Nike Training Club, brought to my attention by Emma here at Blue Sky Vitality some great tips and some recipes there too.  The app has lots of full-body and area specific workouts, chosen first by goal, get lean, get toned, get strong, get focused, and then by level, beginner, intermediate, advanced. This allows for a wide range of interval training based workouts, lasting between 15-45 minutes. I’ve only done one cardio workout so far, and my advice have a towel handy, it was tough going.

Just in case any one is curious I have to admit that while I have started The 17 Day Diet, I did pretty much just skip straight to the meal planner section, I haven’t yet found the time to start reading so when I get around to it, I will post something about that.

Thanks for taking the time to read and, as always, suggestions or experiences or even just a friendly comment accepted with gratitude.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Veterinarianess
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 01:09:55

    Weighing yourself is the hardest part! I always feel like I’m ripping a band-aid off… I’ve been “starting” my weight loss journey for the past year, so hopefully you have better luck than I’ve had! 🙂

    Reply

    • findingmeunderthefat
      Mar 04, 2013 @ 16:17:07

      That’s unfortunate, hopefully my attitude stays like this, I think writing about is helping me to keep focused! Have you just hit a plateau, or have you lost interest or something? I’ve been saying for a long time now that I’ll do it, and I’ve tried a few things but I feel more committed this time around, I think maybe I just wasn’t ready.

      Reply

      • Veterinarianess
        Mar 05, 2013 @ 01:44:47

        I don’t really have that much to lose, so I haven’t been extremely motivated to work it off. It seems like barring some drastic lifestyle changes my weight doesn’t change very much.

      • findingmeunderthefat
        Mar 05, 2013 @ 11:03:42

        Actually I saw your graduation picture and I was like, where are you losing it from? If I could be like that I would be totally happy! Congratulations by the way on the graduation, goal achieved!

  2. leannenalani
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 01:32:18

    At least you know where you are starting with your weight. You can be happy knowing that it will continually go down from there. 🙂 How come yogurt’s not your thing? Is it texture? I’ve never tried organic yogurt so I’m curious about the difference (besides being healthier overall).

    For fish, a boneless cod filet may be a good start. Salmon is usually a favorite for a lot of people, though. I think it’s great that you are trying to expand your taste buds. I grew up a very picky eater and hated all fish, especially salmon. Now it’s my favorite fish.

    Reply

    • findingmeunderthefat
      Mar 04, 2013 @ 16:12:20

      Well first of all, I think that weighing myself really gave me the kick up the butt I needed! The yogurt thing is because all the flavours always feel so artificial, but this one is organic natural yogurt, which is a little less sweet and tasted like real strawberries, not just full of sugar, you know.
      As for the fish, cod sounds like a good idea, I don’t know why but the pinkness of the salmon is a real turn-off, and maybe if all goes well with the cod I’ll be more comfortable. Thanks, you know what it’s like when you try something new, you just don’t know where to start!

      Reply

  3. Emma Polette
    Mar 04, 2013 @ 09:52:36

    I’m glad you tried the app! It is hard going but it will get easier and will give you some good results. I can’t wait to see how you go. You really seem to be determined and I love that x

    Reply

    • findingmeunderthefat
      Mar 04, 2013 @ 16:04:34

      You know what Emma, I was very sore but somehow over the last two days I really feel more energised, I’m not sure if it’s just a placebo effect because I have only done it once! I’m really looking forward to doing it again this evening though, so really, thank you x

      Reply

  4. 43fitness
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 01:08:56

    Good for you for moving forward! I agree with leannenalani about the cod. You can even buy it frozen, for a more economical option. I usually throw a bit of olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper and bake at 350 for about 20 minutes. It’s a flaky, mild fish. Recipe for me is a fancy word for throwing things together. Pair the fish with some brown rice and a green veggie or salad, and you’re good to go! Best of luck on your journe!!!

    Reply

  5. heymacks
    Mar 05, 2013 @ 21:56:59

    We all have to start somewhere so don’t let the numbers on the scale get to you too much. When I was at my highest weight I just told myself that this was it, this was the highest it would ever be and not for damn long! Have you thought about rewarding yourself at certain milestones? I think about the certain size jeans I know I will be buying which keeps me going 🙂

    Reply

    • findingmeunderthefat
      Mar 05, 2013 @ 22:06:37

      That’s a great idea, to be honest although I’ve been “trying” to lose weight for years this is the first time I’m actually committed to it, so I will try just about anything. And I hope someday I’ll be able to say when I was at my highest!

      Reply

Talk to me

