Is it all in our mind?

The question on my mind today comes from my continued cravings for sugary produce, while my hunger levels have managed to miraculously even themselves out. Basically, all last week once about eight o’clock came, i started to feel hungry, and somehow, the more hungry I felt the less I wanted to consume carb and trans fat filled delights like chocolate, chips, baked goods etc. And as my hunger becomes less prominent, my cravings for something delectable increase, which leads me to ask, is it all in our mind?

Surely this cannot be the case as I am still focused on my diet, I have not strayed and I don’t intend to. My mind, like an addict, is searching for any excuse to relapse. I have experienced this before, with food and nicotine, and It makes me wonder about addiction. How strong is our physical dependence on these chemicals we have been consuming.

I have, at one time, been a recreational user of many drugs, legal and illegal, some frequently and some infrequently, and found my walk away from them a lot easier (not easy), than my lifetime quest of maintaining a healthy diet. I stepped back, didn’t like what I was doing, and in fear of being controlled by these drugs, I stopped. Yet, I am still allowing myself to be controlled by food! I just don’t get it.

So in the true spirit of education I intend to do some research on addiction, because I really feel that education is power. Maybe for some of us, it is more than “eating our emotions” or being lazy. Maybe we can stop beating ourselves up, and use information as the driving tool to beat our obsession with food.

My next few posts will be exploring this kind of thinking so stay tuned!

Anyone ever felt like this? Or passionately disagree?

A disclaimer: THIS IS JUST MY OPINION.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mjohnson9706
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 15:01:39

    I couldn’t agree more, I too was addicted to food. After spending years of suffering the complications of food addiction, I learned that I wasn’t really lazy after all. When I cut out the things that were making me sick and tired, I wasn’t sick and tired anymore (well, the first couple weeks of sugar withdrawal was pretty bad, but I lived through it). I admire your quest to beat your own obsession, keep fighting the good fight 🙂

    Reply

  2. cjnwhite
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 15:45:32

    I agree with you that our bodies become dependent, so to speak, on the chemicals added to the foods we consume on a daily basis. Caffeine is addictive, and chocolate contains caffeine, so I can see that aspect of it as well. My biggest thing is Pepsi. But if I can get over the 3-day withdrawal headaches and cravings it’s all downhill from there. 🙂

    Good luck to you and your endeavor for staying on the healthy path of life! 🙂 I am rooting for you! It’s not easy (or cheap, for that matter) but if it’s what is going to make you the best and happiest person you can be then it’s worth all the pain and money in the world!

    Reply

  3. grooms86
    Mar 12, 2013 @ 15:52:08

    I wholeheartedly agree. My mantra right now is “eat to live, don’t live to eat”. It’s so easy to be controlled by food. As as a recovering addict, I will always be in the recovering stage, because unlike other drugs (yes, I see food as a drug), you can’t just STOP eating, y’know? I’m interested to see what kind of research you come up with. Great post.

    Reply

  4. leannenalani
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 04:23:38

    I am very interested in hearing what you have to say about this topic and also about the research you’re going to be doing. I look forward to your posts! I definitely relate to what you’re talking about but have a hard time putting my finger on this whole addiction thing. Like yes, it’s an addiction, but somehow I’m able to control it (to a point). But then there are the times when my guard goes down and I binge because I’ve given myself a stupid excuse. Why does that happen?

    Reply

    • findingmeunderthefat
      Mar 13, 2013 @ 17:08:09

      That’s what I want to know. Also, the way you said you can control it, that’s what an alcoholic would say, it’s not that you don’t have to think about it, or it’s in the past. Every time your confronted with it, you have to gain control, and sometime you succeed and sometimes you don’t. Why? If it isn’t a matter of addiction, why does it remain an issue for the rest of our lives?

      Reply

  5. southerngirlinarizona
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 05:17:59

    Excellent post! I totally think we allow ourselves to fall further into food addiction because we tell ourselves “it’s food, we need it” I’m interested to follow along and see where the research leads!

    Reply

  6. marieh423
    Mar 13, 2013 @ 12:06:29

    Whatever your ‘drug’ is, is a very termporary pacifier for anxiety of some sort. Food was my lover, my best friend, the words of positive reinforcement I never heard as a kid, etc., It (whatever IT is and your mileage may vary) takes away the bad feelings and makes us feel GOOD. Until it doesn’t and we need more. I am the Hight Priestess of Addiction Transfer. Stress is my trigger. I think I’m genetically predisposed since many of my relatives are/were alcoholics, smokers, gamblers, etc. For me, it comes down to putting a temporary band–aid on the feelings of “less than”, and fully accepting reality. Again, your mileage may vary. I’m very interested in your research!

    Reply

    • findingmeunderthefat
      Mar 13, 2013 @ 17:17:13

      That’s an interesting point, genetic predisposition. From what I’ve read so far our environment has a lot to do with addiction also, like what we’re earning and where we live, excitement factor etc. I guess the point I want to put across is if we can treat it like an addiction, know our triggers, really understand them, then we can be prepared, and perhaps make the journey a little easier.

      Reply

Talk to me

